RSAA professor awarded Australian Laureate Fellowship

26 June 2015

ANU continues to strengthen its reputation as the nation's leading research institution with three academics awarded new Australian Research Council Australian Laureate Fellowships.

The new 2015 Laureate Fellows are Professor Lisa Kewley from the Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Professor Ping Koy Lam from the Research School of Physics and Engineering, and Professor Benjamin Andrew from the Mathematical Sciences Institute.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Young AO congratulated the new Fellows and said their awards were well-deserved recognition for their quality research.

'"On behalf of the University I congratulate Lisa, Ping Koy and Benjamin and their teams," Professor Young said.

"The research conducted through these projects will have real world applications. From potential development into technology for mineral exploration to training the next generation of astronomers."

Professor Kewley's fellowship project uses 3D technology to trace how the building blocks of life formed from the infant universe to today.

Professor Lam's project will examine how macroscopic objects can be levitated using only laser beams.

Professor Andrew's research will look at how nonlinear partial differential equations can exploit new and innovative mathematical methods.

ANU has now received 21 Australian Laureate Fellowships, more than any other Australian university, since the scheme started in 2009.