Anglo-Australian Telescope


The Anglo-Australian Telescope (AAT) is operated by the Australian Astronomical Observatory (AAO), which is now part of the Department of Industry, Innovation, Science, Research and Tertiary Education of the Federal government. The telescope was opened in 1974 by HRH Prince Charles.

The AAT is an equatorially-mounted telescope and, with a 3.9m-diameter mirror, is the largest optical telescope in Australia. It is equipped with a robotic spectrograph it can simultaneously observe hundreds of galaxies and stars. It has also been used to carry out several important southern sky surveys, including the 2-degree-field Galaxy Redshift Survey (2dfGRS), and plays an important role in the search for planets around other stars.

Visit the webpage of the Australian Astronomical Observatory for more information.

Related observatory


 (02) 6842 6363

Updated:  25 June 2017/Responsible Officer:  RSAA Director/Page Contact:  Webmaster