A small suite of imaging and spectroscopic instrumentation is available for use with the RSAA research telescopes. The RSAA Time Assignment Committee (TAC) meets quarterly to consider applications for use of RSAA telescopes and instruments from astronomers at institutions around Australia.

Astronomers at RSAA also have access to telescopes around the world through the RSAA and Australia's research partnerships and time-sharing agreements. These include the ESO telescopes.

Observers at ANU and across Australia can also apply for time using the Los Cumbres Observatory Global Telescope Network (LCOGT) the KMTNet telescope, and the former ANU 40 inch telescope that is now operated by the privately-owned Millroy Observatory near Coonabarabran.