CAASTRO: Centre of Excellence for All-Sky Astrophysics

ANU is a partner in the Centre of Excellence for All-sky Astrophysics (CAASTRO). This research collaboration has been awarded $20.6 million in funding between 2011-2018 by the Australian Research Council (ARC), with a contribution of $7.6 million by the partner organisations.

CAASTRO is led by The University of Sydney, in conjunction with The Australian National University, the University of Melbourne, the University of Western Australia, Curtin University and Swinburne University, complemented by a group of world-class Australian and international partners.

CAASTRO aims to establish Australia as the world-leader in the emerging discipline of wide-field astronomy. It is answering fundamental questions about the nature of the Universe, developing innovative ways of processing enormous data-sets, and enabling a diverse set of opportunities for students and early career researchers.

The three interlinked research themes at CAASTRO are:

  • The Evolving Universe: When did the first galaxies form, and how have they evolved?
  • The Dynamic Universe: What is the high-energy physics that drives rapid change in the Universe?
  • The Dark Universe: What are the Dark Energy and Dark Matter that dominate the cosmos?

CAASTRO at The Australian National University

Research School of Astronomy & Astrophysics Commonwealth Solar Observatory Building Cotter Road Weston Creek ACT 2611 AUSTRALIA Phone: +61 2 6125 0271 Fax: +61 2 6125 0233 Email: