Research interests of RSAA staff

Name Email Phone / office Research interests
Dr Anais Moller Anais.Moller@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 8915
1.50 CSO Library

SNe, type Ia SNe cosmology, Dark Energy

Dr Anastasia Ponomareva Anastasia.Ponomareva@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0203
W30
Dr Andrew Battisti andrew.battisti@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0230
W.026

Galaxy Evolution, Dust Attenuation and Emission

Dr Anna Marino anna.marino@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 9315
Woolley
Dr Antonino Milone antonino.milone@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 8030
D.015
Mr Aris Tritsis tritsis@mso.anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0230
Dr Arpita Roy arpita.roy@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 6712
W22

stellar evolution, galactic winds, superbubbles and outflows in starburst galaxies

Dr Ashley Ruiter Ashley.Ruiter@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0274
CSO

Progenitors of transient phenomena from binary stars, in particular Type Ia supernovae (binary evolution histories, birth rates and delay times).

Mr Blair Campbell Conn Blair.Conn@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0230
CSO
Dr Bradley Tucker Brad.Tucker@anu.edu.au +61 (0)2 6125 6711
CSO B.01

Cosmology, Dark Energy, Supernovae, GRBs, Transient Host Galaxies, Galactic Evolution The Kepler Extra-Galactic Survey - GLUV - The Skymapper Supernova Survey - OzDES = The Australian Dark Energy Survey

Dr Brent Groves brent.groves@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 4035
W36

ISM, galaxy evolution, Spectral fitting

Professor Brian Schmidt Brian.Schmidt@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0271
C 1

Supernovae, Cosmology, Gamma Ray Bursts, Survey Astronomy, Photometry

Associate Professor Céline d'Orgeville celine.dorgeville@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 6374
AITC1 - First floor

Laser Guide Star Adaptive Optics

Dr Charley Lineweaver charley.lineweaver@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 6717
DF30

Exoplanets (statistical distribution), Cosmology (cosmic microwave background), Astrobiology/Cosmo-planetology (cosmological prerequisites for the formation of terrestrial planets and life)

Dr Christian Wolf christian.wolf@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 6373
CSO 1.39

galaxies, clusters, SNe/GRBs, surveys, photo-z

Ms Christina Magoulas u1017464@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0230
Dr Christoph Federrath christoph.federrath@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0217
Duffield Building, D.017

Star formation, Turbulence, Interstellar medium, Magnetohydrodynamics, Galaxies, Accretion discs, Numerical and observational methods

Dr Christopher Onken christopher.onken@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 8039
CSO Basement

AGNs, black holes

Dr. David Yong david.yong@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 8044
W33

Chemical evolution of star clusters and stellar populations; Origin of the chemical elements

Dr David Nicholls David.Nicholls@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0243
D008
Dr Dipanjan Mukherjee Dipanjan.Mukherjee@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0296
D14

MHD, High Energy Astrophysics, AGN, Neutron stars, X-ray Astronomy

Dr Doris Grosse doris.grosse@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0285
AITC L1.07
Dr Dougal Mackey dougal.mackey@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0214
D9

I'm an ARC Future Fellow working on the Milky Way and Local Group galaxies, stellar halos, and globular clusters

Dr Elisabete da Cunha Elisabete.daCunha@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 8049
D.011

Galaxy evolution, Multi-wavelength galaxy surveys

Dr Emma Kirby emma.kirby@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 6711
W25
Dr Enrico di Teodoro Enrico.diTeodoro@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 54101
W

Galaxy formation and evolution, Gas kinematics and dynamics, Milky Way galactic center

Dr Francesco D'Eugenio Francesco.DEugenio@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0226
CSO Room 1.10
Dr Francis Bennet francis.bennet@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 8900
AITC L1.10

Adaptive Optics

A/Professor François Rigaut francois.rigaut@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0210
AITC L1.10

Adaptive Optics, Instrumentation, Signal Processing, Galactic Center

Professor Frank Briggs frank.briggs@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 8036
D.111

Galaxy formation and evolution; Epoch of Reionization, Galaxy populations and kinematics through neutral hydrogen studies; Radio astronomy techniques and instrumentation; Planetary surfaces and atmospheres.

Dr Fuyan Bian fuyan.bian@anu.edu.au (02) 61254011
D18

Galaxy Formation and Evolution, High-redshift Galaxies and Quasars, Circumgalactic Medium, Intergalactic Medium, Reionization

Professor Gary Da Costa gary.dacosta@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 8913
D114

Stellar Populations, Dwarf Galaxies, Globular Clusters

Professor Geoff Bicknell geoff.bicknell@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 9088
D13

Radio Galaxies, High Energy Astrophysics, Computational Astrophysics

Professor Harvey Butcher Harvey.Butcher@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 8049
W37

Stellar nucleosynthesis, Galaxy evolution, Astronomical instrumentation

Dr Helga Denes helga.denes@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 50478
Woolley

dark gas in the Milky Way, HI in galaxies

A/Professor Helmut Jerjen helmut.jerjen@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 8038
CSO 1.44

Helmut Jerjen is a multi-wavelength astronomer focussing his research on the structure and evolution of (dwarf) galaxies in the cosmological context. Research activities involve studies of stellar populations, the atomic hydrogen distribution, and dark matter in dwarf galaxies. He is currently leading the Stromlo Milky Way Satellites Survey an international program to search and physically characterise optically elusive Milky Way dwarf satellites predicted by Cold Dark Matter theory.

Dr Ivo Seitenzahl Ivo.Seitenzahl@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 8041
CSO
Dr Joao Bento Joao.Bento@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0227
D 002

Exoplanets; Astrophotonics

Professor John Norris john.norris@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 8034
W31

The structure and evolution of the Galaxy; the chemical abundances of the stars and origin of the elements; old stellar populations, in particular globular clusters; the evolution of stars.

Dr Julie Banfield julie.banfield@anu.edu.au (02) 6197 0171
CSO 1.38

Radio galaxy environments, cosmic magnetism, Radio Galaxy Zoo, radio astronomy, citizen science

Dr Katie Jameson katie.jameson@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 1502
outside W35

interstellar medium, star formation, Magellanic Clouds

Professor Ken Freeman kenneth.freeman@anu.edu.au +61 (0)2 6125 0264
D109

galaxies, our Galaxy, dark matter, globular clusters

Dr Khaled Said khaled.said@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0230
Professor Lisa Kewley lisa.kewley@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 8028
Duffield
Dr Luca Casagrande luca.casagrande@anu.edu.au (02)61970158
D115

Galactic archaeology, stellar parameters, asteroseismic studies of stellar populations

Dr Lucia Armillotta lucia.armillotta@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0230
W28
Professor Mark Krumholz mark.krumholz@anu.edu.au 58033
W29
Professor Martin Asplund martin.asplund@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0223
Duffield Building, D.107

Stellar astrophysics, origin of the elements, formation and evolution of the Milky Way, the first stars, Big Bang nucleosynthesis and the cosmological lithium problems

Dr Marusa Zerjal marusa.zerjal@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0230
Professor Matthew Colless Matthew.Colless@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0266
CSO 1.08
A/Professor Michael Ireland michael.ireland@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0288
W.025
Professor Mike Bessell michael.bessell@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0268
CSO 1.33

SkyMapper. Standard photometric systems, synthetic photometry, high resolution spectroscopy, model atmospheres, stellar evolution. Magellanic Clouds. Galactic centre. Stars: white dwarfs, metal deficient GKM stars, mira variables, M dwarfs, carbon stars, GK supergiants.

Professor Mike Dopita michael.dopita@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0212
D7

Formation of galaxies, starbursts, active galaxies, spectral modelling

Professor Naomi McClure-Griffiths naomi.mcclure-griffiths@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 4158
W35

Milky Way structure and evolution, Magellanic system, radio astronomy

Professor Paul Francis paul.francis@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 8031 or (02) 6125 2824
W 24, and Physics room 104 (Bldg 38a) on campus

Comets, Gas in the early universe, galaxy formation, red quasars, MOOCs, online and flipped teaching

Professor Peter Wood peter.wood@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 8032
W27

Stellar evolution, stellar pulsation, AGB stars planetary nebulae, long period variables, mass loss from stars. stellar populations in the Magellanic Clouds, astronomical seeing and adaptive optics.

Dr Philip Taylor Philip.1.Taylor@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 9381
Duffield
Dr Ralph Sutherland ralph.sutherland@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0284
D110

Theoretical Astrophysics: Interstellar Medium (ISM) Physics; Supernova Remnants; massive star evolution and their ISM interactions; Active Galaxies; Atomic Physics.

Dr Robert Sharp rob.sharp@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 8035
W32
Dr Roland Crocker roland.crocker@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0253
Duffield D0.10

Galactic Centre, High Energy Astrophysics

Dr Sarah Sweet Sarah.Sweet@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0203
W30
Dr Seo-Won Chang seowon.chang@anu.edu.au (02) 6125
1.50 CSO Library

SkyMapper Main survery; GW/FRB Follow-up; SuperNovae; AGN Variability; M-dwarf stars; Variable stars

Dr Sree Oh sree.oh@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0230
CSO 1.38
Dr Thomas Nordlander Thomas.Nordlander@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0230
D.106

3D NLTE stellar abundance analyses; Very/extremely metal-poor stars; atomic diffusion; cosmological lithium

Dr Visa Korkiakoski Visa.Korkiakoski@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 6084
LG1.05
Dr Yuan-Sen Ting Yuan-Sen.Ting@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0203
W30

Near field cosmology, chemical tagging, stellar spectroscopy, chemodynamics models of the Milky Way, machine learning, neural network, stellar populations

Dr Yusuke Fujimoto Yusuke.Fujimoto@anu.edu.au (02) 6125 0230
Woolley 28

Updated:  22 September 2017/Responsible Officer:  RSAA Director/Page Contact:  Webmaster